Once You Know How Gummy Bears Are Made, You’ll Never Eat Them Again

 

Yeah, you do not really think about all the animal stuff that goes in when you’re chewing it, do you?

It’s hard to resist the lure of the sweet smell of sticky sweets. We know that they are bad for our teeth and all, but they hit the sweet spot, and that’s enough to get us through the drilling PIC bag ‘Mix in about 10 minutes flat.

The after watching the this But short film by Belgian filmmaker Alina Kneepkens , Shows exactly how of the which for These sweets are made, you of might to bring one’s Struggle to your lips the ever again. Because although we know in theory the gelatin used to make these kind of jelly sweets comes from animals (why else would vegetarians steer clear?) We’ve never actually pictured how gross it is.

Advertisement – Continue Reading Below

You have been warned.

Playing in reverse, the film starts by showing us the finished product: a pack of gummy sweets deliciously doused in sugar, wrapped and ready to go. But then it rolls back in time, and we see the artificial additives going in, the gelatin going in, and how that gelatin is made … with sheared off animal skin.

In case you did not know, gelatin is a protein which comes from collagen. And that’s found in the tendons, ligaments and tissues of animals.

The before you to rule But out all chewy sweets, for They’re not all made from gelatin – there are a number of a vegan substitutes such as with agar the which Comes from algae an INSTEAD (not That That sounds particularly appetizing, yet Mind you).

That bag enjoy You of gummy bears , now! Just.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.